Today Quiz Master – 04-Nov-2019

Today Quiz Master – 04-Nov-2019

1. Who was a Women Minister in the Rajaji Ministry of Tamilnadu ?

A) Jothi Venkatachalam

B) Sarojini Naidu

C) Sathiyavani Muthu

D) Muthulakshmi Reddy

Explanation :                                                                       Ans : (A)

Jothi Venkatachalam was born in Rangoon in October 1917. She was elected to the Tamilnadu legislative assembly from Egmore constituency as an Indian National Congress candidate in 1962 election, and as an Indian National congress candidate from Srirangam constituency in 1971 election. She served as a Minister for Prohibition and Women’s Welfare in the C. Rajagopalachari cabinet between 10 October 1953 and 12 April 1954.

She was also the Minister for Public Health in K. Kamaraj’s Cabinet between 1962 and 1963. She served as the Governor of Kerala from 14 October 1977 to 26 October 1982.

In 1974 Jothi Venkatachalam was conferred with a ‘Padma Shri’ award for her dedicated contribution in the field of Public Affairs..

2. Who headed the interim cabinet formed in the year 1946 ?

A) Sardar Vallabai Patel

B) Rajaji

C) Jawaharlal Nehru

D) Rajendra Prasad

Explanation :                                                                       Ans : (C)

On September 2, 1946, the interim government of India led by Jawaharlal Nehru was formed. It was the only such cabinet in India’s history in which both congress and the Muslim League shared power at the Centre. The interim government functioned with a great degree of autonomy, and remained in power until the end of British rule, after which it was succeeded by the Dominions of India and Pakistan.

3. The Department of Border management is a department of which one of the following union ministries ?

A) Ministry of External Affairs

B) Ministry of Home affairs

C) Ministry of Environment and Forests

D) Ministry of Defence

Explanation :                                                                       Ans : (B)

The Department of Border Management was created in January 2004. It works under the Ministry of Home affairs.

It deals with management of borders, including coastal areas.

4. The equator divides the continent into two equal halves

A) North America     B)  Europe

C) Africa                 D)  Asia

Explanation :                                                                       Ans : (C)

The equator is the imaginary line that separates the northern hemisphere from the southern hemisphere and runs across the centre of the Earth at a latitude of exactly zero degrees. In Africa the equator runs for almost 2,500 miles/4,020 kilometres through seven West, Central and East African countries just south of the Sahara Desert.

5. Which one of the following is known as the “land of Rice Revolution” ?

A) China                  B)  India

C) Sri Lanka            D)  Philippines

Explanation :                                                                       Ans : (D)

Philippines is called as the “land of Rice revolution”.

Rice production in the Philippines is an important aspect of the country’s food supply and economy. The Philippines is the 9th largest rice producer in the world, accounting for 2.8% of global rice production.